Makita Press Releases  


Monday, June 1, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, June 1, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Dungey podiums in 250 class

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Mike Alessi celebrated his first career AMA Motocross 450-class victory and took over the points lead at the Hangtown Motocross Classic in Sacramento, California, on Saturday afternoon. Alessi rode two impressive motos on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450, winning the first and finishing in the runner-up spot in the second. Although that performance was enough to secure the overall victory, the winner of the second moto was penalized by the AMA, which gave Alessi 1-1 moto victories as well as the overall he’d already earned. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Chad Reed picked up his second podium finish in as many races at Hangtown. Although the two-time AMA Supercross Champion finished sixth in the first moto, he came back and finished third in the second, with the result being a third-place overall. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne continues to rebound from injury, getting two good starts on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 before a few mishaps saw him finish17th overall.


In the 250 class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey, who won the opening-round of AMA Motocross at Glen Helen and leads the overall championship points in the 250 class, had a challenging first moto and finished seventh. In the second moto, the newly crowned 2009 AMA Supercross Lites West Coast Champion rallied and won, thus securing an overall podium finish.


AMA Motocross 450 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers:

1. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

2. Ivan Tedesco, Honda

3. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

4. Andrew Short, Honda

5. Josh Grant, Yamaha

6. Dan Reardon, Honda

7. Matt Goerke, Suzuki

8. Justin Brayton, KTM

9. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki

10. Cody Cooper, Yamaha

AMA Motocross 250 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers:

1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki

2. Trey Canard, Honda

3. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

4. Brett Metcalfe, Honda

5. Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki

6. Broc Tickle, Yamaha

7. Blake Wharton, Honda

8. Jake Weimer, Kawasaki

9. PJ Larsen, Kawasaki

10. Justin Barcia, Honda



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.