Makita Press Releases  


Monday, March 30, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, March 30, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Alessi celebrates another holeshot

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Chad Reed continues to lead the AMA Supercross Championship points chase, thanks to another second-place finish at the Rogers Centre in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, this past Saturday night. The two-time and defending AMA Supercross Champion won his heat race on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z450 and then brought home a strong secondplace finish in the 20-lap main event. This result means that Reed has been on the podium for every
round so far this season. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Mike Alessi celebrated his fifth Supercross main holeshot of the year, even as he battled illness and fatigue. The Californian was able to run with the frontrunners at the start of the race before finishing in 11th place. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne remains injured and did not race. He hopes to be back racing again soon.
In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi began the night strong by getting a good start in his heat race and then battling for the lead before finishing third. In the 15-lap main, however, the young rider battled an injured hand as well as his competitors. Although Izzi got a rough start, he had worked his way through the pack to sixth place before he went down. By race’s end, he managed to bring home 11th place.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at Jacksonville Municipal Stadium in Jacksonville, Florida, on Saturday, April 4, 2009.
AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. James Stewart, Yamaha
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Josh Hill, Yamaha
4. Josh Grant, Yamaha
5. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
6. Kevin Windham, Honda
7. Davi Millsaps, Honda
8. Matt Boni, Suzuki
9. Andrew Short, Honda
10. Ben Coisy, Honda
11. Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing (Holeshot)
AMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2. Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki
3. Broc Tickle, Yamaha (Holeshot)
4. Branden Jesseman, Kawasaki
5. Matthew Lemoine, Yamaha
6. Wil Hahn, KTM
7. Matt Goerke, Suzuki
8. Vince Friese, Honda
9. Daniel Blair, Honda
10. Blake Wharton, Honda



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.